Awards & Scholarships

William C. Frazier Memorial Lectureship in Food Microbiology

The William C. Frazier Memorial Lectureship in Food Microbiology was established in 1991 to honor Dr. Frazier. Co-sponsored by FRI and the departments of Bacteriology and Food Science, the award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in food microbiology. The awardee is invited to present a lecture in conjunction with the FRI Annual Meeting.

Improving Public Health by Preventing Foodborne Diseases — Past, Present, and Future

Robert V. Tauxe, CDC

Food Allergy Research: Look What FRI Started

Steve Taylor, University of Nebraska

Food Safety: Creating a Comprehensive Regulatory Framework for Prevention

Jenny Scott, FDA CFSAN

Food Safety Eras: Past, Present, and What Is Next!

Gale Prince, SAGE Food Safety Consultants

Thirty Years of Foodborne Listeriosis

Martin Wiedmann, Cornell University

Stress, Survival, and Virulence of Bacterial Foodborne Pathogens

Robert H. Deibel, Deibel Laboratories

Interaction and Collaboration between Government, Industry and Academia to Address Food Safety Concerns

Robert Brackett, Grocery Manufacturers Association
2008no award
2007no award

Food Microbiology & the Food Industry: Stage Gate One in a Career Pipeline

Rhona Applebaum, Coca-Cola Company

International Developments in Managing Microbial Food Safety

Martin Cole, National Center for Food Safety and Technology

Chance and Common Sense

William H. Sperber, Cargill Corporate Food Safety

William C. Frazier, A Man for His Time

Edwin M. (Mike) Foster, FRI, Director Emeritus

Traditions in Food Microbiology: From Pasteur to Genomics

Todd Klaenhammer, North Carolina State University


Charles Duncan, Hershey Foods Corporation

Food Safety Objectives: Concentrating on Disease Reduction

Lester Crawford, Georgetown University

Advances in Food Mycology Methodology

Larry Beuchat, University of Georgia

Impact of New Packaging and Preservation Technologies on Microorganisms in Foods

Joseph Hotchkiss, Cornell University

Food Safety in the 21st Century: To Test or Not to Test? That Is the Question

Francis Busta, University of Minnesota

Reform of FDA Food Regulations

Peter Barton Hutt, Covington & Burling

Dealing with Uncertainty: The Future of Food Microbiology?

Robert Buchanan, USDA FSIS

The Future of Foodborne Disease: Lessons from the Past

Mitchell L. Cohen, CDC

Microbiological Food Safety: A European Perspective

Richard J. Gilbert, Public Health Laboratory Service

Food Microbiology of the Future: From What We Have Learned in the Past

Douglas Archer, FDA CFSAN

John H. Nelson Undergraduate Research Award

The John H. Nelson Undergraduate Research Award honors Dr. John H. Nelson, Research Program Manager at FRI 1987–1993. The research competition is designed for undergraduates conducting research related to the quality and safety of foods under the guidance of any FRI executive committee member or FRI affiliated faculty. The award winner will present a research poster at the FRI Annual Meeting and receive a plaque and a monetary award.

The Effects of Nitrite on Clostridium perfringens Growth during Extended Cooling of Cured Ham

Katie Osterbauer; Mentor: Kathy Glass, Jeff Sindelar

Effect of Food Matrix on Thermal Inactivation Rate of Listeria monocytogenes

Dana Billing; Mentor: Kathy Glass

Oxidative Stress Observed in Salmonella enterica Grown in Hyperosmotic Conditions

Trace Borchardt; Mentor: Amy Wong

Filamentous Salmonella enterica Formed During Osmotic Stress Undergo Changes to Nucleoid Morphology and ATP Generation Over Time

Brad Gietman; Mentor: Charles W. Kaspar

Salmonella enterica Genes Required for Survival on Lettuce

Jessica O. Lund; Mentor: Jeri Barak

Tomato Plant Characteristics that deter Salmonella Contamination

James N. Luo; Mentor: Jeri Barak

Identification of "Function Unknown"" Genes with a Role in the Ability of Salmonella to Survive in Water"

Steven Molinarolo; Mentor: Jeri Barak

Remediation of a Nuclear Complex Important for Toxin Production

Elizabeth Chadwick; Mentor: Nancy P. Keller
2007no award

A Novel Transcription Factor Family Regulating Sporulation and Mycotoxin Biosynthesis in Aspergillus

Margaret Reuter; Mentor: Jae Hyuk Yu

Function of Oxylipins in Fungal Secondary Metabolism and Morphological Development

Meghan Walters; Mentor: Nancy P. Keller

A Method to Prevent Egg Production Losses when Protecting Humans from Salmonella enteritis (SE) Transmitted by Eggs

Meghan Schwartz; Mentor: Mark Cook

The Effect of Fat Type and Level on Clostridium botulinum in Process Cheese Products

Patrick Eimerman; Mentor: Kathy Glass, Eric Johnson

Role of PPO Genes in Aspergillus nidulans

Terri Kowieski; Mentor: Nancy P. Keller

Survival of Salmonella on Shredded Cheese

Patrick Eimerman; Mentor: Kathy Glass, Eric Johnson

Antimicrobial Activity of Additives Against Foodborne Pathogens in Media

Staci Eickert; Mentor: Kathy Glass, Eric Johnson

Searching for Genetic Elements in Fungal Growth Signaling Pathway

Sara Rierson; Mentor: Jae Hyuk Yu

The Effect of Conjugated Linoleic Acid Isomers on Tumor Necrosis Factor-alpha

Craig Pisarik; Mentor: Michael W. Pariza

Enhancement of Acid Tolerance by Expression of a Small Basic Peptide

Jeffrey L. Bose; Mentor: Charles W. Kaspar

Subtyping of Vaginal Isolates of Group B Streptococci by Pulsed-field Gel Electrophoresis and Serotype

Holley J. Willenberg; Mentor: John B. Luchansky

Viability of Escherichia coli O157:H7 in Full- and Reduced-fat Pepperoni After Manufacture of Sticks and Baking of Slices on Frozen Pizza

Rachel K. Wierzba, Ann M. Roering, and Anne M. Ihnot; Mentor: John B. Luchansky

Kikkoman Foods Foundation Scholarship

The Kikkoman Foods Foundation Scholarship honors the service of Dr. Foster to Kikkoman Corporation. The scholarship is awarded annually by FRI to a deserving undergraduate student who has demonstrated academic excellence and a strong commitment to a career in food microbiology, with an emphasis on students who have participated in research.
2015Emily Merry
2014Joshua Lensmire

Dr. E Michael and Winona Foster Wisconsin Distinguished Fellowship Award

The Dr. E Michael and Winona Foster Wisconsin Distinguished Fellowship Award is a graduate research competition. Graduate students receiving this fellowship will receive support for one year, including tuition remission and $1,500 in flexible funding.
2015Kymberleigh Romano
2014Kenneth Brandenburg
2013Amanda M. King
2012Jose Pablo Soto-Arias
2011Keith Poulsen
2010Heesoo Park
2009Lori Neal
ARYZTAConAgra FoodsFonterraGreat Lakes CheeseHormel Foods (Jennie-O Turkey Store)KelloggKerry Ingredients and FlavoursKraft Foods (Oscar Mayer Foods)LandOLakesLeprino FoodsPepsiCoSchreiber Foods